Apartment cooking

July 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

One of the reasons I am so happy about living in Korea is the food– oh, and the fact that I can legitimately cook in my apartment. I am looking to save money and eat more healthily and I think I can accomplish that here. This past week I bought great ingredients (tofu, seaweed, sweet peppers, a pumpkin, tomatoes, sprouts, yams, buckwheat noodles, Japanese kombu broth, wasabi, soy milk, bananas, etc.) at a neighborhood grocery store and I have been preparing all of my breakfasts and dinners. I was unable to shop this easily in Thailand– nor was I able to really cook in my own house. All I had was a rice cooker (some of you may recall that the first 8 months of my living in Thailand was done without fridge or even microwave). You can imagine how ecstatic I was when I moved into my S. Korean apartment and found a stove top, a mini oven, pots and pans, cutting boards, and a fridge. Mom told me she would be sending me some dried legumes soon… maybe I can convince her to send me some quinoa as well…  ❤ Food.

soy pumpkin butter

seaweed and roasted green pepper omelet with a side of kimchi

roasted red, orange, and yellow peppers with seared tofu and grilled potatoes

Grilled veggie and tofu sandwich (eggplant, zucchini, red onion, orange peppers, bean sprouts, romaine lettuce)

mmm…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Apartment cooking at Running Veg.

meta

