Annyeong! 안녕! Hello!

July 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hey Everyone!

Yes, it’s been a while, I know… In my defense, I have been very busy these past few months. I made the decision in January to move from Thailand to S. Korea and have been preparing for the relocation ever since. Months of paperwork; job interviews; post office, embassy and vet trips; and money spent. Anyway, this past Wednesday I finally arrived in S. Korea and have essentially settled into my new digs. Here is a photographic breakdown of the week leading up to my move to K-town.


1. 24 June 2012– Recruitment company emailed me my Korean E2 visa number!

Got my S. Korean Visa Number!

2. 26 June 2012– Making phone calls to the Korean Embassy in Bangkok to verify passport/document drop off times and subsequent visa costs. I was exhausted in this picture– less than a week until S. Korea!

Going on no sleep, preparing to drop off my passport at the Korean Embassy

3. 27 June 2012– Said goodbye to some of my students (Pop, Pim, and Poon)

Goodbye picture with some of my long-term students

4. 27  June 2012– Managed to fit in a 5-miler during my relocation week from hell. So. Frikkin’. Tired.

Got in a 5-miler between packing and other international prep-work

5. 28 June 2012– Headed back to Bangkok’s S. Korean Embassy to pick up my passport and work visa! I was so excited, I took a picture of it in the Embassy’s bathroom… (someone was even using one of the toilets while I snapped this pic)…

Bathroom pic in Bangkok’s Korean Embassy– Got My Visa!

6. 29 June 2012– Farewell dinner at my favorite restaurant in Sikhiu, Thailand: Lan Ahaan Sii Faa (Blue Restaurant). Love this family and their amazing vegetarian dishes, prepared just for me!

Lan Ahaan Sii Faa Goodbye Party!

7. 30 June 2012– Gave my last few English classes… said many goodbyes to my many talented and playful students.

Silly goodbye photos with more of my adorable and gifted students

more goodbyes…

and more…

8. 1 July 2012– Said goodbye to my favorite local Grandmother and her family-run food stall. Best Dom Yum Hed and Khao Pat Kai in all of Thailand!

Goodbyes to my local Thai Grandmother and her family-run food stall

9. 2 July 2012– Headed to Bangkok with my friends from Sikhiu. Finalizing paperwork for Sigma, tour Ayuttayah, and then the AIRPORT!

Hanging out in Bang Poo, Thailand

Ayuttayah! Buddha head wrapped up in the roots of a tree in Thailand’s old capitol.

Saying goodbye at the airport… Sigma was already checked in

So there you have it. I am now a resident of S. Korea and am very, very happy to have moved. Moving internationally is very stressful and a bit complicated (especially if you travel with your dog) and I am glad that that is all done with (for now). I am planning on getting back into running again and would like to begin blogging more seriously. I will probably incorporate more than just running news and veggie talk from this point forward. In addition to my running plans, I would like to discuss S. Korea and my transition into it, my life generally, and ethics.

2nd night in Korea– mmm, dinner!

Hope everyone is doing well these days. I will post soon about upcoming races in Korea and my mileage this week. Ta ta!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Annyeong! 안녕! Hello! at Running Veg.

meta

