Loi Krathong.

November 9, 2011 § 4 Comments

Today Thailand will be celebrating Loi Krathong, a festival meant to honor and thank the Thai goddess of water: Phra Mae Khongkha. Thais fashion little boats out of banana leaves and float the origami crafts on rivers throughout Thailand. The little handmade boats will be decorated with candles, coins, incense, and flowers. Floating the candled leaf boats down stream represents letting go of one’s anger and other bad attributes and supposedly brings good luck and fortune.

I will be celebrating Loi Krathong locally with my Thai friends. More pictures and stories to come!

Image Source: National Geographic

How many miles are you logging this week? Have any races coming up?

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Loi Krathong.

  • djkreger says:

    It looks like a beautiful festival! I’m looking forward to your pics.

    I thought you might like to know that I was hit last night while out riding. I’m fine, but my bike is toast. So no riding for a while until I can borrow a bike or get the money from insurance to replace it. I guess I’ll be doing a lot of walking til then!

  • sydneykegan says:

    Oh my god! I am so sorry! What happened? Hopefully you will be able to get a new bike soon.

    • djkreger says:

      Basically, a guy made a left turn while looking right, taking him across my lane. I thought he was going to stop, but then just as I was getting close, I saw him look right and start pulling out. I knew he was going to hit me. But my ninja cycling skills kicked in and I surfed his hood, so I never hit the ground. Whew!

      The insurance ball has started rolling, so I hope it won’t take long. In the meantime, I have some cycling friends who will be lending me bikes (which, incidentally, are for sale, haha), so I get to test ride for a while!

  • sydneykegan says:

    Thank goodness for ninja cycling skills! I am glad you are okay and not in the hospital. Luck was certainly on your side.

    Hopefully you will get a kick ass bike soon!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Loi Krathong. at Running Veg.

meta

