A Cambodian Crossing

November 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

So, this has been a really busy week for me. We had to make a last minute trip to the Cambodian border to renew my visa on Sunday (can you believe it has already been 3 months?!). Ever since I have been playing catch up with my private classes and my own independent research. I wish I could learn modal and deontic logic by way of osmosis. Someone needs to figure out how to make that happen for me (now, preferably!).

Also, it turns out that I might get legitimate work as a teacher in a rural elementary school in my town. I toured the facility today and met many of the teachers. I figured that someone must be able to speak (at least) passable English since it is a requirement for students to “learn” English in Thailand. Alas, it was a pipe dream. I basically ended up speaking Thai the entire time I was at the school. Even the English teachers couldn’t really speak English. This could be an interesting experience and an excellent way for me to improve my Thai. I was able to work out a deal with one of the teachers: she would teach me how to read and write in Thai and I would help her with conversational English. Good deal.

Here are some more pictures from the Cambodian border:

Vendors at the border selling stir fried grasshoppers, shrimp, and mango.

Grasshoppers… gin dai mai? gin dai! (can eat? can!)

Three Cambodian boys eating the grasshoppers that I bought

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Cambodian Crossing at Running Veg.

meta

