My Day at SUT (among other things…)

October 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

This weekend’s long run went as expected. My legs felt fine for the first 13 miles or so. By the 15th mile, I was beginning to feel tired and my legs were performing less like a well-oiled machine and more like a rusty robot clumsily performing some automated function. By mile 17, I was fantasizing about bottles of ice water. At the last mile, I was like a zombie speed-shuffling my way towards the nearest brain (or bottle of water).

I spent the morning at my partner’s place of employment: Suranaree University of Technology. It was so refreshing to go to an academic institution after being holed up in my village for over 8 months. I strolled through the library (who knew I would be overcome with intense nostalgia from the slightly acrid scent of old books?), enjoying the conditioned and controlled atmosphere. I was hoping to pick up an LSAT prep book, but the library didn’t appear to have any on hand. Instead, I found some books on logical reasoning, the scientific method “in practice,” and a couple of books analyzing various ethical theories. Yes please! English books are not always so easy to come by out here (especially where I live)–and when you do happen to find some, they are usually prohibitively priced–so to be able to get my hands on some free academic texts, well, let’s just say that I am quite pleased.

As an aside, I am curious to see if there is a way to make a specific ethical theory more rigorous. By that I mean, can one apply model logic to an ethical theory to enhance its precision? Perhaps in so doing, there might be an overall increase in the theory’s understanding and that increase could enhance its reception and subsequent application.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Day at SUT (among other things…) at Running Veg.

meta

