Autumnal America Pumpkin Butter

August 30, 2011 § 1 Comment

I am always on the hunt for healthy, nutrient-packed snacks to satiate my never ending hunger and to provide me with much needed vitamins and minerals. As I’ve posted before, being a vegetarian in Thailand is not the easiest diet to maintain and is perhaps one that requires a lot of work and forethought (more so than when I lived in America). Furthermore, I am a huge fan of pumpkin and squash– generally anything reminiscent of fall: knitted sweaters, comfy socks, jeans, fire places, nutmeg, dreary Baltimore weather, etc., etc.

Anyway, with these things in mind, I searched for a  recipe that would sweetly (and tastily) remind me of my favorite season in my favorite city. I ended up finding this fairly straightforward recipe for vegan pumpkin butter via Ohsheglows.com. Pumpkin butter seems like a great little indulgence that would be awesome to spread on whole wheat bread, to mix into steel cut oats, to add to a protein shake. Yum!

via Dandee Designs -- Canned Pumpkin Butter

I adapted the sh*t out of the recipe so let me give you a break down of my version:

Autumnal America Pumpkin Butter

  • 1/2 fresh pumpkin (small)
  • 1/3 cup 100% apple juice
  • 1/3 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Cut the pumpkin into manageable pieces (rind on!) and cook over steam until soft. Once cooked, mash the pumpkin and rind until it reaches a fairly smooth consistency (a food processor would be great for this– unfortunately yours truly doesn’t own one). Put the pumpkin puree, apple juice, and spices into a sauce pan over medium heat. Cook for 15 minutes, stirring frequently. Allow the puree to cool down before putting it into a mason jar or tupperware. Refrigerate.

Making this spread was such a delight. The scent of the spices reminded me so thoroughly of autumn– it’s amazing the nostalgia that smells can evoke. The taste is lightly sweet and pumpkin-and-apple-pie-esque, in other words, delicious! I can’t wait to mix this into my oatmeal tomorrow morning.

A bit of nutritional information on pumpkin:

Pumpkin is nature’s vitamin.  It’s a good source of Vitamin E, Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Iron, Magnesium and Phosphorus, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Riboflavin, Potassium, Copper and Manganese. You can read more about Pumpkin’s nutritional break down here.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Autumnal America Pumpkin Butter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Autumnal America Pumpkin Butter at Running Veg.

meta

