Kill Bill: Volume III (Runner’s Edition)

August 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

So I ran 16 miles yesterday –my longest run to date. It was a fairly uneventful run (read: good): nothing exciting happened, no pain in my shins, no dogs chasing after me, no snakes, etc. However, there always seems to be a point in my long runs (i.e. runs greater than 10 miles) when I hit the proverbial “wall.” For me, it usually happens 2 miles before the end.

Anyway, I am a big fan of Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill— especially Volume II. When I find my body lagging and my head is in accordance, and every muscle is shouting at me to call it a day, I think about Beatrix Kiddo. I mean, come on, she is pretty bad ass. When I say I think about Breatrix Kiddo, I mean that I think about her training with Pai Mei— specifically, when she is trying to punch a hole through a piece of wood.

The video below shows the beginning of her training with Pai Mei:

The next video shows that through all of her intense, difficult training, she is able to punch through her wall– well, a coffin, but you get the idea.

So when I hit my version of the “runner’s wall,” I think about Beatrix Kiddo and I pretend that I am trying to punch through a piece of wood. No, like I seriously replicate her punching motions– even while struggling to continue my run. It must be quite a sight for onlookers, but I swear it gets me all pumped up and motivated to finish my run on a strong note.

Beatrix Kiddo, fictional or not, is someone I try to model myself after (killing aside)– she is a strong female character; mentally, physically, and emotionally.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kill Bill: Volume III (Runner’s Edition) at Running Veg.

meta

