Village Obstacle Course

August 19, 2011 § 1 Comment

Running in my village is like running through a never ending obstacle course. Cars and motorbikes don’t seem to follow any traffic laws and they always seem to be headed right for me. I, in turn, have to zig-zag to avoid being hit by an eleven-year-old speed-junkie on a motor-bike. Stray dogs often chase after me, snarling, or try to run with me– either way, they end up under my feet, which means I have to hurdle over them like some hell-bent track star. Bats looking for their nighttime meal circle overhead, which causes me to duck out of the way of their scaly wings that draw eerily close to my face. I constantly have to be on the lookout for aggressive cockroaches, lizards, snakes, and praying mantids that seem to enjoy placing themselves strategically in my way when I am in the middle of a run. I try to dodge them, but more often than not they run towards me and try to crawl over my shoes (seriously)– this usually ends in me screaming. Let me be the first to say that running in Thailand is a trip (literally and figuratively).

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Village Obstacle Course

  • museikchik says:

    Haha I thought things were bad in San Diego (inconsiderate people etc..). It seems waay more intense in Thailand. Almost sounds like a game of Pitfall. 🙂 LOL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Village Obstacle Course at Running Veg.

meta

