Where is My Mind?

August 12, 2011 § 2 Comments

Where does your mind go while you run? During some of my longer training runs, when I am bored with my playlist and I’ve made the mistake of calculating how many miles I have left to run, I let my mind do its own type of running.

Specifically, I make up stories– long, drawn out, intricately detailed stories. I mean, I’m talking details: wardrobe, precisely worked out dialogue, mannerisms. I make up stories about my future, about my career, about my life. Sometimes I make up characters, sometimes I use friends and family as characters, and I always play the lead (duh, haha).

Fantasizing, making up stories– or whatever you want to call it– really helps the time go by for me. The process is fairly entertaining and keeps my mind active, positive, and focused– something that is hard to do after running more than 6 miles in tropical Thailand. I like to think of it as flexing my mind, while I am flexing my muscles.

What do you do to stay motivated and positive during your long-runs?

(The Pixies’ Where is My Mind? seems to be a fitting song for this post.)

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Where is My Mind?

  • museikchik says:

    I have always wondered the same thing. I people watch when my songs start to get boring. Try to figure out if they are local and if they run often. There was a game show I saw on Tv the other day and found myself creating different scenarios about how I would win. I would probably never go on the show but it was pretty entertaining.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where is My Mind? at Running Veg.

meta

