So We Meet Again, Shin Splints…

August 5, 2011 § 3 Comments

Okay. So let’s talk about last night’s run (it wasn’t pretty). Throughout the run my left shin had been bothering me but I thought something along the lines of “mind over body” and decided to keep running (I mean, it was only 4 miles after all…). A little more than halfway through the run, the pain was aggressively shouting: “SYDNEY! LOOK AT ME! PAY ATTENTION TO ME! WHY AREN’T YOU LOOKING AT ME!” Much to my chagrin, each footfall seemed to compound the pain. I stopped running and proceeded to have a mini-breakdown in the middle of the street, self-pitying tears streaming down my face. I was just so pissed; all the miles logged, all the early mornings, all the social refusals in the name of marathon training. My brain frantically argued “You can’t afford to take a week or two off because your training timeline and the Bangkok Marathon date sync up quite perfectly. You’ve got to find a way!” I don’t want to cause a permanent injury, but I’m also not a quitter (At this point you have my permission to call me stupidly stubborn).

Anyway, I composed myself and decided to finish my run because I just couldn’t go home defeated like that (this is where that “stupidly stubborn” comment comes in). So I blasted OK Go’s Get Over It and powered through the rest of my run (like a boss). Post-run, I sat in a tub of ice water and weighed my options.

Ultimately I decided to buy a new pair of running shoes– shoes specifically tailored to how I run. I also plan on switching up terrain to lessen the impact of running on asphalt. Finally, I will sit in a tub of ice water after every run to promote blood flow and healing. If these changes do not work, I will have to take a couple weeks off and redouble my training efforts at a later date.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to So We Meet Again, Shin Splints…

  • runtobefit says:

    I have suffered with shin splints as well. A change in shoes helped a lot. I know exactly what you are going through…all the training and then an injury!! I do believe everything happens for a reason…that’s what I always tell myself. Hope it goes well and you can keep running.

  • […] am hoping the tiny reprieve from training (along with the changes I mentioned in my shin splints post) will help me get through this evening’s long-run with relative ease. My partner, myself, and […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So We Meet Again, Shin Splints… at Running Veg.

meta

