Bad [Health] Habits

August 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

Let’s talk about bad health habits. Right about the time that I began training for the BKK Marathon, I noticed that I started to analyze everything that I do to, put into, and subject my body (to). For example, I became really anxious while riding motorbikes– so much so that I would pester my friends to “slow down!” and obnoxiously yell in their ears, “OMG! What are you doing!? You’re going to get us killed!!” Ultimately, I was worried that I’d get into an accident and hurt my precious legs. Anyway, it seems that once I made the commitment to run a marathon, my physical health become priority numero uno. However, I still suffer from my fair share of bad health habits.

BHH Number 1? My l-o-v-e of diet coke. In the States, I drank an ungodly amount of the stuff (it’s way too embarrassing to even type out the number of cans I could drink in a day, so uhh, I won’t), but since moving out to the Land of Smiles, where diet-anything is not plentiful (or common!), I’ve managed to whittle it down to 1-2 cans per day. My goal is to cut diet coke out of my life completely, replacing it with a more refreshing unsweetened, iced green tea.

via DC on the Rocks

BHH Number 2: I do not always eat balanced meals. As most of you know, I am a vegetarian living in a rural Thai rice farming village. I feel like I have more of a responsibility to eat healthy, balanced meals because of my part-time job as a runner. I eat yogurt, soy milk, a variety of fruits, peanut butter, eggs, some veggies (usually in the form of Som Tam), and a LOT of rice. My problem is that I am worried about my overall lack of variety. After a long day, and an even longer run, I hobble over to Yai’s house (our village’s grandmotherly cook) and get what I can. This is all quite unlike my diet in America where I was able to have complete control over my meals. I guess this one isn’t so much a bad health “habit” as it is more a health “problem.”

BHH Number 3: I sometimes skip meals. Yep. In my defense, there are times when I am just not hungry. I am a bit of a forager (like Angela from The Office and other cute (and not so cute) rodents).  I like to eat small meals spread out over the course of my day; it keeps things interesting.

BHH Number 4: Eek! I don’t take supplements. I know– I really, really should. And I want to. I just don’t trust the supplements readily available for purchase in Thailand as they are likely to contain un-vegetarian ingredients with a few “fun” extras thrown in for good measure, plus, I can’t read the all-Thai labels. I should have brought a big bottle with me from America– but they are heavy and would’ve further weighed down my overweight luggage (i.e. baggage fines!). Excuses, excuses. I need to get on this.

So as you can see, I have plenty to work on over the next few months…

What are some of your bad health habits? Are you taking any steps to rectify them?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Bad [Health] Habits

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bad [Health] Habits at Running Veg.

meta

